Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

DVHeld
Frequent Visitor

Monthly cumulative sum

Hi, I'm new to Power BI, and I have stumbled upon a problem. I have scoured lots of other suggestions but so far nothing has worked for me. I have a V_CTACTE_HORAS table that has a "month" (MES) column that contains YYYY-MM in string format. I have created a date (FECHA) column like so:

FECHA = DATEVALUE(V_CTACTE_HORAS[MES])

I have used this new column to make a relation to my date dimention table (D_TIEMPO), created with the CalendarAuto() function, also marked as a date table. The V_CTACTE_HORAS table also has a integer credit (ABONO) column and an integer debit (CARGO) column, and it has a proyect ID column (PRY_ID). I need to calculate the per proyect monthly cumulative sum of both, and then substract the debits from the credits, to get the monthly cumulative difference. The substraction part should be easy, but I'm stuck on the cumulative sum part. Every suggestion I've found has so far not worked. Some approches (like this one) yield me this:

Some other approaches I have tried give me an empty column. What I need is actually this:

3 REPLIES 3
v-shex-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @DVHeld ,

Can you please share a pbix file for test? It is hard to test without any sample data.

Regards,

Xiaoxin Sheng

Community Support Team _ Xiaoxin
If this post helps, please consider accept as solution to help other members find it more quickly.

Thanks, here is the file: https://1drv.ms/u/s!AjKjNv73ICO9gbIHVaealPlYKsmJXg.

I have achieved part of what I intended, namely to be able to get the monthly cumulative sum, I did it this way:

Abono Acumulado Mensual = 
CALCULATE (
    SUM ( V_CTACTE_HORAS[ABONO] ),
    FILTER ( 
        ALL ( V_CTACTE_HORAS ),