Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

wcameron14
Frequent Visitor

Monthly Totals in a Matrix

Hello!

I'm new to Power BI and am trying to work through somethig that seems simple but has me stumped.

I am trying to calcuate the utilization percentage by month by employee.

Utilization = Worked Hrs. / Available Hrs.

Available hours = 8* xx workdays in a month

I have created a field to assign 8 hours per work day and have tried a variety of ways to calculate a sum total of hours for each month. In the example below, I am trying to calculate the "Available Hours" column for each month. So far, when I calculate the hours I get 2088 for 2019, which is the total number of hours for the year. How do I get the Available hours to display as seen below?

November 2019                    December 2019                               January 2020

NameWorked Hrs.Available Hrs.UtilizationWorked Hrs.Available Hrs.UtilizationWorked Hrs.Available Hrs.Utilization
Bill Smith16016895.24%17517699.43%17318494.02%
5 REPLIES 5
v-shex-msft
Community Support
Community Support

HI @wcameron14 ,

Since we are not so clear about your data structure, can you please provide more detailed information to help us clarify your scenario?

How to Get Your Question Answered Quickly  
Regards,

Xiaoxin Sheng

Community Support Team _ Xiaoxin
If this post helps, please consider accept as solution to help other members find it more quickly.

The data comes from a time tracking system. We import the data to Power BI to provide tracking on employee utilization on internal and extenal projects. There are calculations done in the time tracking system prior to exporting this data to Power BI. Our model then leverages both calculations and measures to create various metrics.