Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

awalsh
Helper I
Helper I

Mode and Count of Items for Mode

Hi, 

I am fairly new to Power BI and am trying to figure out if it's possible to: 

1. Have the Mode calculated based on the Legnth of Stay column for each month? (example: for September the Mode would be 11). 

2. Count the number of Member ID's that make-up each mode? (example: to show that there are a count of 4 member ID's that make-up the mode for September).

3. If there is no mode, can Power BI display N/A for that month? (example: October has no mode, can power BI dispaly "N/A" or something along those lines?)

awalsh_3-1626278431077.png

I tried to upload a sample PBIX file, but there is no option for me to upload on here? I uploaded it to my google drive for people to download at this link: (once it opens, i think there should be a download button in the top right corner.) 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1KjFcT8QuINWkmB_Uj4bfB2eHHlWuitAA/view?usp=sharing

Thank you in advance for any assistance. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

thanks for your reply @awalsh 

I got it.  if you want to calculate Mode by DAX, here are steps you can take for reference.

-

add a column Year-Month to your table,

YM = DATE(YEAR('Table 1'[Expiration Date]),MONTH('Table 1'[Expiration Date]),1)

then, add a column frequency,

frequency = 
var _countvalue='Table 1'[Legnth of Stay (Months)]
var _value='Table 1'[YM]
return 
CALCULATE (
    COUNTROWS('Table 1'),
    FILTER (
        'Table 1',
        'Table 1'[YM]=_value&&'Table 1'[Legnth of Stay (Months)]=_countvalue
    )
)

at the end, create the measure,

returnMode = 
var _max=CALCULATE(MAX('Table 1'[frequency]),ALLEXCEPT('Table 1','Table 1'[YM]))