Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

maurom

Merging 2 Tables

Hello,

I am new to Power BI and I am starting to learn its ways... I have what maybe a basic question but after searching I have not been able to fin the answer:

I have two tables that I want to merge in the following way:

Table 1

Date 1

Number 1

03/01/2016

05/02/2016

Table 2

Date 2

Number 2

03/05/2016

05/04/2016

What I want:

Year

Month    

Number 1 Tabla 1    

Number 2 Tabla 2

March

May

Thank you!!!!

4 REPLIES 4
v-qiuyu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @maurom,

In your scenario, you can add two custom columns(Month, Year) in Table1 and Table2. Then use Lookupvalue() function to get number2 from Table2. Please refer to screenshots below:

Column = LOOKUPVALUE(Table2[Number 2],Table2[Month],Table1[Month],Table2[Year],2016)z2.PNG

If you have any question, please feel free to ask.

Best Regards,
Qiuyun Yu

Community Support Team _ Qiuyun Yu
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

@maurom - If you want it all done in a single query, you can refer to my blog article on this subject here:

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/wiki/contents/articles/32915.power-bi-merge-query-with-m.aspx

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea
Become an expert!: Enterprise DNA
External Tools: MSHGQM
YouTube Channel!: Microsoft Hates Greg
Latest book!:
The Definitive Guide to Power Query (M)

DAX is easy, CALCULATE makes DAX hard...
Neuro81
Helper I
Helper I

okay so a bit of scrubbing and then merging the data sets