Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

seanmcc
Helper I
Helper I

Measures dependent on certain slicers

Hi all,

I am fairly new to Power BI and trying to create measures has been tricky, I have the following problem;

I have a set of slicers that allow me to select a drill. The data table provides the value for the selected drill.

The next step is to select two what if parameters - duration and sets.

As can be seen in my measure 'Drill 1 TD' I wish to calculate the value  from the selected drill (shown in table (average m.min)) and multiply it by the what if parameters. 

This works when only selections are made on the first set of slicers, but not if any other slicers are selected, for example drill 2 slicers.

Can I get the measures to work for their independent slicers?

Measure & Slicers Problem.png

I hope this makes sense?

Thank you for any help in advance.

Sean

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @seanmcc

If the 6 slicers are from the same table,and you need to sum the values from each 3 slicers ,you'd better create 6 separate tables for each slicer,otherwise it would make conflicts while filtering data.

Slicer is a kind of filter,even when you edit the interactions between visuals to none,when you calculate the sum values,it will check all the 6 slicers ,that is why you have values in each card,but have blank in total.

You can use below dax expression to create 6 separate tables:

table =DISTINCT('Table'[Column])

Then for the details,you can check the previous reply I made.

Best Regards,
Kelly
Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
v-kelly-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi  @seanmcc ,

Are all the data in slicers from different tables?If so,just create a measure as below: