Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

johnfa
Frequent Visitor

Measure to sum another measure problem

Hi there

I am new to DAX and having problems calculating a measure to sum another measure and was hoping someone could point me in the right direction.  I have simplified the data below to show the problem. 

Date PeriodProductSales
01/01/20191A0
01/01/20192A0
01/01/20193A0
01/01/20191B3
01/01/20192B1
01/01/20193B3
01/01/20191C0
01/01/20192C1
01/01/20193C2
02/01/20191A0
02/01/20192A0
02/01/20193A0
02/01/20191B0
02/01/20192B0
02/01/20193B0
02/01/20191C0
02/01/20192C0
02/01/20193C0
03/01/20191A1
03/01/20192A0
03/01/20193A3
03/01/20191B2
03/01/20192B2
03/01/20193B0
03/01/20191C1
03/01/20192C3
03/01/20193C2

I  am trying to get a count of the number of products without any sales by date  so my output would look like this 

Date#Products With No Sales 
01/01/20191
02/01/20192
03/01/20190

I can create a measure on my Sales Data table that groups things by date and product returning 1 if there are no sales and 0 if there are sales for the day.

Missing Product Sales For Day =
IF (
CALCULATE (
SUM ( 'Sales'[Sales]),
ALL ( Sales[Period])
) = 0,
)

I was then thinking i would just be able to sum these values up by day in another measure but i cannot reference the first measure in any subsequent measure without getting the following error.   

Column 'Missing Product Sales For Day' in table 'Sales' cannot be found or may not be used in this expression. 

What would be the simplest way to do this ?  I think i can do it by creating more tables using Summarize but that seems a bit clunky

many thanks
Johnfa

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
YJ
Resolver II
Resolver II

Hi ,

Under Modeling , New Table put this in:

20191022_BI_johnfa.JPG

Tb_Products_w_no_Sales = SUMMARIZECOLUMNS(Table1[Date ],

(Filter (