Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Ochab1
Frequent Visitor

Measure to calculate the number of trucks waiting in a queue - recursive calculation

Dear PowerBI community,

I'm a beginner with PowerBI and DAX.

I have the following problem and, after searching on this forum & internet, I cannot find my way out...Smiley Mad

For each time period (by hour here), I have a measure to define the number of trucks who arrived in a warehouse [12_Actual Load] and the available capcity, ie the max number of trucks which can be undocked during the period [13_ActualCapacity].

The number of trucks entering/leaving the queue is then [31_In/Out waiting trucks] = [12_ActualLoad] - [11_ActualCapacity].2017-05-26 15_07_03_PBI.png

I would like a measure to calculate the number of trucks waiting in the queue at the end of each time period.

• For the first time period (1), it is Queue(1) = Max( 0 , [31_In/Out waiting trucks](1) )
  • For the next time periods, Queue(n+1) = Max( 0 , [31_In/Out waiting trucks](n+1) + Queue(n)

2017-05-26 15_06_09-Excel.png

Any idea if it is feasible and how to proceed ?

Many thanks in advance for your help Smiley Happy

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-shex-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Ochab1,

You can try to write a recursive function in power query, then invoke it at original table.

Below is the sample.

Table:

9.PNG

Steps:

1. Add Index column.

10.PNG

2. Add a blank query to write recursive function, name it to Test.

let
    Test= (source as table, index) =>
    let
        Temp = if index < 1 then 0 else source{index}[Value] + Test(source,index-1),
        Result= if Temp <0 then 0 else Temp
    in 
        Result
in
    Test

3. Add custom column to invoke custom function.

11.PNG

12.PNG

4. Remove Index column.(option)

Regards,

Xiaoxin Sheng