Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ChrislyBear
Frequent Visitor

Measure to Distinct Count by Category

Hi, 

I'm rather new to Power BI and I think I need some help. What I want to do is to distinct count a column using a measure, but the column should also be present in the report! The thing is, if I just put in a few columns, the column "sales[customer]" AND the measure "Need Help With This = DISTINCTCOUNT(sales[customer])" it will show a "1" in every row for the measure column, as expected. The measure I want SHOULD show the DISTINCTCOUNT as if the column "sales[customer]" wasn't present in the report.

I know, that this explanation isn't really understandable, so let me paint you a picture real quick (table structure is made up, but the real data is structured similarly).

Let's say we have a table of "sales" data. In this table there are, among other columns the columns "article", "customer", "date", "country" and a few aggregatable values like "sales amount" and so on.

Before creating the report I create two filters; one for "calendar[year]" and one for "sales[country]". Keep that in mind! The data will be already filtered! There's a relationship between my calendar table (date, year, month, day, calendar week, ...) and my sales table.

The (already filtered!) table could look like this if you just dragged the columns into a tabular report: 

article		customer	sales amount	...
===================================================
1		a		234		...
1		b		4322		...
1		c		23		...
1		a		42		...
2		b		34		...
2		c		245		...
2		c		564		...
2		c		47		...
3		g		354		...
3		g		345		...
3		g		778		...
3		g		34		...

Now, if I used SQL I'd create the desired resulting report using the following query (the bold line represents the measure I'm looking for):

SELECT s.article,