Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Hoho1
Frequent Visitor

Measure should stay fixed

Hello,

Is there any way to create a measure that holds two values that stay fixed when you select other filters?

I have the following table:

BadsCount
Total1300

and when I use a filtered column (e.g. Income drops: Y or N) I want to see the new distribution of counts but the % reduction on the original volume, i.e. this:

BadsCount% of OriginalCalculation for % of Original
060050%=600/1200
12020%=20/100
Total62048%=620/1300

Is there any way to do this? I've tried everything I found online (that I could understand) about measures, AllSelect etc but the denominator always changes when I use a filter (I'm fairly new to PowerBI). I used the advanced editor to get a fixed denominator for Bads=1 but obviously it won't work for Bads=0. I'd prefer to do this in DAX but any solution that can help is much appreciated! 🙂

Thank you in advance for your help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
vmakhija
Post Prodigy
Post Prodigy

@Hoho1

I am assuming you have separate columns for numerator and denominator.

If so, you can use the following -

Original % Measure = IF(HASONEVALUE(Table5[bad]),
CALCULATE(SUM(Table5[Count1]), ALLEXCEPT(Table5, Table5[bad])) / CALCULATE(SUM(Table5[Count2]), ALLEXCEPT(Table5, Table5[bad])),
CALCULATE(SUM(Table5[Count1]), ALLEXCEPT(Table5, Table5[bad])) / CALCULATE(SUM(Table5[Count2]), ALL(Table5))
)

Mainly, HASONEVALUE will treat your individual rows v/s. Total row differently. Hope it helps.

Regards

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
vmakhija
Post Prodigy
Post Prodigy

@Hoho1

I am assuming you have separate columns for numerator and denominator.

If so, you can use the following -

Original % Measure = IF(HASONEVALUE(Table5[bad]),