Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Measure across two tables

Hi

Noob here.

I'm trying to count number of rows in one table, based on a comparison that involves a second table.

I've been reading about innerjoin and relatedtables, but I don't understand it yet, and would like a specific suggestion on how to solve this.

TableA - coloumns GUID, Unit & EM

TableB - coloumn GUID

Count number of rows in table A where Unit= 4100 and EM = 400, and where tableA[GUID] = TableB[Guid].

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Anonymous 

It is highly recommended to have relationships as one-to-many. It's easy to solve, and in fact, if you do not need to keep all rows iin your "Tools_Idefix_Order_Pane" table for some calculation (counting rows or something of that sort), you can simply remove duplicate rows in Power Query in this table and then proceed with loading to the model and creating the one-to-many relationship.

For the sake of this exercise, however, I'm assuming you need to keep the original "Tools_Idefix_Order_Pane" table intact. So we are going to create a new table which will be referenced to this "Tools_Idefix_Order_Pane" (so that any changes in the data source are reflected in the new table), and set it up as a lookup table for your model.

to proceed, go into Power Query and:

1) select your "Tools_Idefix_Order_Pane" table,

2) right click on it and choose "Reference" form the dropdown

2020-02-04 (2).png

this will create a new table (same as your original "Tools_Idefix_Order_Pane" table). Change its name (in my example I've called it Table B lookup).

3) now select the column, and in the Home tab, go to "Remove Rows" and select "Remove Duplicates"

2020-02-04 (3).png

4) Now select "close and Apply" to load the tables into the model and close Power Query.