Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Measure Error With Many to Many Table Relationships?

Hello fellow PowerBI users! I am completely new to PowerBI and DAX programming, and I would like to know if many to many relationships are causing an issue.

I have two separate tables in my model. One table that has hours scheduled for a particular employee with the key being the employee number. The other table has hours actual worked (retrieved by time punch data) with the employee number as well. Since both of these tables consist of many employee numbers, I am assuming this is a bad practice, and is ultimately causing my error.

Which brings me to the actual error. I am trying to compute productivity i.e. the total number of hours worked divided by hours scheduled. I would then like to filter on dates,different areas, shifts, etc. I am just creating two separate measures that sum up the hours (worked and scheduled). From there, I am creating another measure that divides those two measures to get productivity as a percent. This number is completely off when I try to filter on workcenters for example.

Does anyone have any insight on this? Am I going about it completely wrong or is the many to many relationship causing an issue? I appreciate any sort of advice,criticism, etc as I am just starting with PowerBI.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Anonymous calculation looks correct, wihtout knowing underneath data, it is very hard to say why you will get weird result.

You want to drop all your measures in a table visual and work areas and see if you are getting correct number of sum of hours.

Subscribe to the @PowerBIHowTo YT channel for an upcoming video on List and Record functions in Power Query!!

Learn Power BI and Fabric - subscribe to our YT channel - Click here: @PowerBIHowTo