Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Max of date column isn't correct

Hi, super basic question I'm sure, but I'm brand new at this, so please bear with me!

I'm trying to create a measure to approximate the date that the dashboard was updated. One of the columns in my data set is a list of dates that should be updated enough to pull the latest date from that column. For some reason, though, every time I use a max function, it pulls 12/31/2019, which definitely isn't in the data set. I added a filter so the date <today(), but it pulls up yesterday's date now, which also isn't in the data set. Just doing a max on the Excel file, I get the correct date, so I'm not sure why PowerBI is finding something different. Could it be because there are blanks in the column?

Here's my measure:  DateUpdated = calculate(max(MasterInspections[123InspectionMostRecent].[Date]),MasterInspections[123InspectionMostRecent].[date]<today()) Thanks in advance!!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
PANDAmonium
Resolver III
Resolver III

If you are actually using a report in app.powerbi.com, the new look will include the last updated time. If you are using a dashboard or Desktop though, I'm fairly sure this will work (It something I thought of awhile ago but haven't actually tried it yet)...

1. In query editor, create a new table. It should have one column, one row with a value of "Updated" or something
  2. Add a new column with "= Table.AddColumn(Source, "Custom", each DateTime.LocalNow())"

You should end up with something like

Col 1 | Col 2

Updated | 9/4/2019 5:05:05 PM