Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

cmac1
Regular Visitor

Max Bid

I am new to DAX and am trying to do something that I think should be fairly simple.  I have an auction table where each row is a unique bid for a specific item.  Each bid has its own unique id, bid amount, bidder id, and references the item that is being bid on.  I need to find the bidder with the maximum bid for each item.  Any suggestions on how I can do that?

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
v-shex-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @cmac1,

You can simple use summarize function to get the max bid amount of each item:

Table 2 = SUMMARIZE(Sheet1,[bidder id],"Max Bid",MAX(Sheet1[bid amount]))

Regards,

Xiaoxin Sheng

Community Support Team _ Xiaoxin
If this post helps, please consider accept as solution to help other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

Hey,

in this example I used Power Query to find the max amount for an item, I started with this table (fact)

table base.png

If you open the query editor and look at the query for the the table fact, you will see a step called "Group Rows (to be deleted)", here I used "Transform - Group By". You can delete this step if you want, it is used just for demonstration in this example :-):

grouping base.png 

If you have a look at the Formula Bar you will see this:

= Table.Group(#"Changed Type", {"itemid"}, {{"groupIndex", each _, type table}})

Here you will find " each _" the underscore represents each row of the base table, if you look at the step "Grouped Rows" you will see that I have replaced the underscore with a nested function call "Table.AddIndexColumn( Table.Sort(...))". Be aware that you have to replace the underscore in the Formula Bar. If you did the replacement, the grouping dialog will not reappear.