Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

boldy
Frequent Visitor

Matrix with multiple categories and filters

Let me start by saying that I'm relatively new to Power BI and DAX.

I am looking to build a matrix that looks like the example below, with a goal of being able to utilize a slicer to select a week, which would then appear in the "Selected Week" column, with "MTD" and "YTD" being calculated up to the selected week.image.png

I have a date table, containing calendar dates along with fiscal month/week of the year.
Example of the table the budget data lives in: image.png

Example of the sales table:image.png

I have spent the last two weeks trying anything and everything I could think of or read about on forums. I eventually gave up due to time constraints and wrote conditional calculated columns for each variable. I feel as if this should be possible and that I'm just approaching the situation incorrectly.

Any assistance, hints, or fingers in the right direction are much appreciated.

Thank you for taking time out of your day to read this.

Edit:

Please disregard the above images.
This is an example of my desired output (though there will be more rows than Revenue, such as COGS, Net Margin, etc):image.png

Here is an example of the data:
image.png

5 REPLIES 5
xuexi1890
Helper I
Helper I

@boldy 

first of all, try to give a consistent datasource for people to answer your question.

Try to use VAR in your Calculate() 

example: 

MTD Actual=

VAR _SelWeek=ALLSELECTED(Weeknum)

CALCULATE(

SUM(Actual),
 FILTER(ALLSELECTED(
TABLE1), Weeknum<=_SelWeek))

@boldy 

Correction, forgot to add RETURN

MTD Actual=

VAR _SelWeek=ALLSELECTED(Weeknum)

RETURN

CALCULATE(

SUM(Actual),
 FILTER(ALLSELECTED(
TABLE1), Weeknum<=_SelWeek))