Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

TaylorVA
Frequent Visitor

Manage relationships (unique values needed)

Hello all,

I'm new to Power BI, and I'm trying to manage relationships between 3 tables -- "Customers", "Sales Orders", and "Cash Sales".

The Customers table includes a list of all current customers with a 3 month time period (Q3 2015).

Ex:

Customers      

Customer 123

Customer 456

Customer 789

The Sales Orders table includes the Sales Orders for each of those customers

SO#                       Customers      

SO-400                  Customer 123

SO-401                  Customer 456

SO-402                  Customer 789

To illustrate, I have a Sales Order with 3 distinct items, so in the Cash Sales table, it displays the same Sales Order number in three consecutive rows right next to 3 different item numbers.

Ex:

SO#               Item#          Customers            Date of Sale        

SO-401         9900            Customer 456       09/01/2015

SO-401         9921            Customer 456       09/01/2015

SO-401         9931            Customer 456       09/01/2015

I want to create a relationship for the "Customers" column in the Customers table to the same column in the Sales Orders table, which works perfectly. The problem I seem to have is when I try to create a relationship between the SO# column in the Sales Orders table and the Cash Sales table (due to the Cash Sales table having duplicate values for the SO#).

Is there any way to "roll up" the duplicate values in the SO# column so I can create the relationship with unique values?

Thank you in advance to anyone that can help! 🙂

9 REPLIES 9
Sean
Community Champion
Community Champion

Do you have duplicate SO# in the Sales Orders Table?

What error message do you get when you try to relate the 2 tables?