Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

michaeljc70
Advocate II
Advocate II

Make a column not sum/count

I've used Power BI quite a bit lately with a SSAS cube and some Sql Server queries and created many visualiations.  I am still fairly new to this though and cannot figure this out. 

I imported a very simple Excel spreadsheet. 3 columns: period, actual, goal. I tried to make a line and stacked column chart.  However, it keeps using the aggregations (that don't make sense). It is using a count of the goal and count of the actual and not the value from the spreadsheet.  

When I go into the query, I see no place to change how/if a column is summarized. I know how to do this in PowerPivot.  

Beyond that, I have no idea why it would do any aggregations since I am using all fields in the dataset and aggregation is not needed/appropriate.

When I click on the column under "Column values"  it shows "Count of Actual" and the only options are "Remove Field",  "Count (Distinct), and "Count".  How do I kjust get the value?

47 REPLIES 47

I think I had a similar problem - I have a list of Facebook Fans, broken down by day. As a number field, it would sum/count/average etc...but I then changed this column to a TEXT field in Power BI, and this worked - giving the options of First or Last in the values field, which was exactly what I needed.

maracles
Resolver II
Resolver II

@michaeljc70 if I understand you correctly you have not created a measure, you are just dragging the columns to the visualisation.

Do avoid the aggregation happening:

1. Find the field in question in the Values field of the Visualisations Pane
2. Click the small arrow to the firght of the column name
3. Click 'Don't Summarise'

Picture below, hope that helps. 

do_not_summarise.png

Hello,