Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

michaeljc70
Advocate II
Advocate II

Make a column not sum/count

I've used Power BI quite a bit lately with a SSAS cube and some Sql Server queries and created many visualiations.  I am still fairly new to this though and cannot figure this out. 

I imported a very simple Excel spreadsheet. 3 columns: period, actual, goal. I tried to make a line and stacked column chart.  However, it keeps using the aggregations (that don't make sense). It is using a count of the goal and count of the actual and not the value from the spreadsheet.  

When I go into the query, I see no place to change how/if a column is summarized. I know how to do this in PowerPivot.  

Beyond that, I have no idea why it would do any aggregations since I am using all fields in the dataset and aggregation is not needed/appropriate.

When I click on the column under "Column values"  it shows "Count of Actual" and the only options are "Remove Field",  "Count (Distinct), and "Count".  How do I kjust get the value?

47 REPLIES 47
uday64657

Any solution for this Problem.

I am also facing same issue. In Power BI desktop, I can able to see column with Sum that allowing to show actual count in Graph. However when I publish same to Power BI Online, it broken and showing count of the column.

natabird3
Continued Contributor
Continued Contributor

Make sure to change the column to decimal format then you will be able to change to don't sum. 

Hi All,

I am also facing same issue. does anyone find solution for this.

Please help me on this.

Thanks,

Eswar

Click on the element you don't want to summarize, then go to the modeling tab, around the middle are the properties, select default summarization, don't summarize. Worked on Version: 2.65.5313.701