Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

RE
Helper I
Helper I

M if text contains

I'm fairly new to M and I'm not sure if this functionality is even avaliable but what I'm trying to do is replace text that contians a specific word. For example, In my data set I have the same company listed with different names:

Coke 
Coca Cola

Coca-Cola

Coke Co. 

What I want is write something that will tell it to change any text that contains "Coca" to "Coca Cola". 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yulgu-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @RE,

Here are two options for your reference

1. add a conditional column

1.PNG

Corresponding M query:

= Table.AddColumn(#"PreviousStep", "Custom", each if Text.Contains([Column1], "Coca") then "Coca Cola" else [Column1] )

2. Replace values on original column directly.

#"Replaced Value" = Table.ReplaceValue( #"PreviousStep" ,each [Column1],each if Text.Contains([Column1], "Coca") then "Coca Cola" else [Column1],Replacer.ReplaceValue,{"Column1"})

Best regards,
Yuliana Gu

Community Support Team _ Yuliana Gu
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi,

I've added this code but

Table.AddColumn(#"Filtered Rows4", "Custom", each if Text.Contains([Cost Recovery Original column], "Slaughter") then "Slaughter" else "Not Slaughter")

I'm getting the incorrect result. I'm expecting row 35 which contains the word "Slaughter" to return "Slaughter" not "Error"

Leroy_0-1657171812220.jpeg

Any assistance would be appreciated

Anonymous
Not applicable

I can do this in Dax

Custom test = CALCULATE(CONTAINSSTRING(MAX('All Data'[Cost Recovery Original column]),"Slaughter"))

but Mcode isn't working 

v-yulgu-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @RE,