Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

AKM_Crowley

M Language - unpivot issue

Hello.  I am fairly new to the M language, so any tips are greatly appreciated.  I am  struggling with the following:

I have a risk table with data in it as follows:

ID    Risk                                CY     Yr2     Yr3     Yr4     CYLikelihood     Y2Likelihood     Y3Likelihood     Y4Likelihood

1      Change Management   $1      $3      $2       $1      Medium             High                 Medium            Medium

2      InformationSecurity      $2      $3      $5       $6      Low                    High                 High                  High

I need it to look like this so I can score each risk based on the likelihood and other fields:

ID    Risk                                Year     Dollars     Likelihood

1     Change Management     CY       $1             Medium

1     Change Management     Y2       $3             High

1     Change Management     Y3       $2             Medium

1     Change Management     Y4       $1             Medium

2     InformationSecurity        CY       $2             Low

2     InformationSecurity        Y2       $3             High

2     InformationSecurity        Y3       $5             High

2     InformationSecurity        Y4       $6             High

I've tried two different options to get the solution I need and both times I got it wrong.  Thank you in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
MarcelBeug
Community Champion
Community Champion

You can first unpivot the likelihood columns and drill down into the value column so you have a list of unpivoted values.

Next you take the Source again, remove the likelihood columns, unpivot the dollars, remove the "r"'s.

Now you have to glue those parts together with Table.FromColumns.