Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

tykurzy
Frequent Visitor

Lose Custom Date/Time Excel Format (dd hh:mm) When Imported to Power BI

Hi there,

Working on calculating a time to resolution metric for our help desk by subtracting the "Completed By" system date and time from the "Created On" system date and time. 

Time to Resolution = Completed By - Created On

Time to Resolution is a custom format in Excel (dd hh:mm)

tykurzy_0-1636584374793.png

In Excel, I can sum, average, and count the Time to Resolution metric.

When imported into Power BI Desktop, it changes the format to:

tykurzy_1-1636584577190.png

I've tried different change types and transform options, but am having trouble. I'm fairly new to Power BI and am unsure if I can create a calculated column with a custom date format that can be used to sum and average, just like in Excel.

Any help would be very much appreciated.

3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
PhilipTreacy
Super User
Super User

Hi @tykurzy 

When converting to DateTime, you should use Change Type -> Using Locale

usinglocale.png

If your dates are in dd/mm/yyyy format then use a locale that matches like English (Australia) or English (United Kingdom)

usinglocale2.png

Regards

Phil

Did I answer your question? Then please mark my post as the solution.
If I helped you, click on the Thumbs Up to give Kudos.

Blog :: YouTube Channel :: Connect on Linkedin

Proud to be a Super User!

View solution in original post

PhilipTreacy
Super User
Super User

Hi @tykurzy 

Download sample PBIX file

In this file I've imported your Excel file then converted the Created On and Completed By columns to DateTime Using Locale.

I've then subtracted one from the other in PQ and changed that resultant column, called Time to Resolution, to Duration type.

restime2.png