Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

tmore
Regular Visitor

Lookupvalue error: A table of multiple values was supplied where a single value was expected.

Hi Folks,

I normally use Tableau and have recently started using Power BI, so don't know how to implement the desired functionality. I want to find percent change relative to the first year. For example, in my data source the first year is 1947 so I want to find percent change of each year wrto this year. In Tableau, I can do this with few clicks but as I am new to Power BI so struggling a bit. I created a formula but it is not working.

Capture.PNG

Please someone help me. If required, I am ready to send my .pbix file.

Regards,

Tushar

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

HI @tmore,

I can't find the specific column which you used in your formula.
If you means get the result of 'each year' divide 'all year'(per ethnicity), you can refer to below formula.

Measure formulas:

Spoiler
War percent = 
CALCULATE ( SUM ( Sheet2[% of WAR] ),  VALUES ( Sheet2[Ethnicity] ) ,VALUES(Sheet2[Year]))
    / CALCULATE (
        SUM ( Sheet2[% of WAR] ),
        ALL ( Sheet2 ),
        VALUES ( Sheet2[Ethnicity] )
    )

Players percent = 
CALCULATE ( SUM ( Sheet2[% of Players] ), VALUES ( Sheet2[Ethnicity] ) ,VALUES(Sheet2[Year]))
    / CALCULATE (
        SUM ( Sheet2[% of Players] ),
        ALL ( Sheet2 ),
    )

13.PNG

Regards,

Xiaoxin Sheng

Community Support Team _ Xiaoxin
If this post helps, please consider accept as solution to help other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
v-shex-msft
Community Support
Community Support

HI @tmore,

It seems like lookupvalue function can find out multiple correspond records, current power bi not support to direct calculation on multiple records.