Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

rcase959

Lookup image and add to report

Ok, so I am completely new to Power BI.  I am working with a data set which includes a bunch of email addresses.  I would like to create a report which displays the users pictures along with some other content already available.  Pictures are stored on a file share as "emailaddress.jpg"  Is there any way to ingest the jpg files from the file share, and associate in the report based on email address matching the filename (excluding the .jpg extension) ?  Thanks!

4 REPLIES 4
v-haibl-msft
Employee
Employee

@rcase959

We can use the custom visual Image Viewer to show the user picture. But only URL field defines image will be displayed.

For example, I create a simple table with some information like below.

Lookup image and add to report_1.jpg

We can drag the Image Viewer visual into canvas and select Photo column for the URL field.

Then go to “Manage Roles” and create a role like below. Publish this report to PBI Service.

Lookup image and add to report_2.jpg

Add members to role1 we define above.

Lookup image and add to report_3.jpg

Then if Herbert opens the dashboard with his account (***bl@***.com), he will see the first photo which located on http://s18.postimg.org/xbogm4cd5/Calculate_Current_Employee_Count_based_on_Joined.jpg.

If Michael opens the dashboard with his account (***sh@***.com), he will see the second photo which located on http://s21.postimg.org/itcuy2xon/problems_to_creating_a_chart_of_the_monthly_volu.jpg.

Note: The row-level security function needs the pro license.

Best Regards,

Herbert