Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Arnaud
Frequent Visitor

Looking for a DAX formula to calculate percentage per category, per year

Hi all,

I'm new to Power BI.

For my school, I'm trying to plot curves that show the percentage of students coming from the different regions of France, over the years.

From my main table, which contains one row per student, I could compute the number of students coming from these regions over the years, by using this DAX formula :

Number Per Region = SUMX(
    KEEPFILTERS(VALUES('Donnees-SCOL'[Annee]));
    CALCULATE(COUNT('Donnees-SCOL'[Departement_dernier_diplome])))

Where [Annee] is the year; [Departement_dernier_diplome] is the region of France.

The resulting plot looks like :

Example.JPG.

But I did not manage to calculate, for each year, the corresponding percentage of students coming from these regions

For a given year, I would expect something like : Percentage Per Region in Year = Number Per Region / TOTAL Number in Year.

Can anybody help me to find out the right DAX formula?

Thank you in advance,

Arnaud.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
iamprajot
Responsive Resident
Responsive Resident

There are 2 options to achive that:-

1. Measure = COUNTA(TableName[Region])/CALCULATE(COUNTA(TableName[Region]),ALLSELECTED(TableName[Region]))

& Format it to %

2. Create Matrix Chart, Put Year in Rows, Region in Columns, Put Region again in Values (COUNT) and Select show value as Percent of Row Total

and finally convert Matrix Chart into Line Chart accordingly.

View solution in original post

Hi again,

I worked on your solution 1 and actually modified the DAX formula you suggested, as follows:

Percentage Per Region = DISTINCTCOUNT('Donnees-SCOL'[ID])/
CALCULATE(DISTINCTCOUNT('Donnees-SCOL'[ID]);ALLSELECTED('Donnees-SCOL'[REGION]))