Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

lk5683

Live Data Source - add columns?

Hi All,

PowerBi newbie here - have been tasked with the creation of a dashboard which the data is sourced from a live dataset. 

all the below buttons are greyed out and not selectable. 

• Enter Data
  • Edit Queries
  • Edit Parameters
  • Edit Variables
  • Table 
  • Relationships

i believe the database owner has set up permissions. 

Are there work rounds available to add conditional columns  to the dataset?

Cheers,

Dennis

pb1.JPG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-lili6-msft
Community Support
Community Support

hi, @lk5683

When you use Live connection, you can not add columns or table, it can only create a report level measure. If you need to add columns, you need to do these in the datasource.

When connecting to SQL Server Analysis Services (SSAS), there is an option to either import data from, or connect live to, the selected data model. If you select import, then you define a query against that external SSAS source, and the data is imported as normal. If you select to connect live then there is no query defined, and the entire external model is shown in the field list. If you select DirectQuery, as visuals are built, queries are sent to the external SSAS source. However, unlike DirectQuery, there is no sense in which a new model is being created; in other words, it's not possible to define new calculated columns, hierarchies, relationships, and so on. Instead you are simply connecting directly to the external SSAS model.

Reference:https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/desktop-directquery-about

Best Regards,

Lin

Community Support Team _ Lin
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6