Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

BI2018No
Frequent Visitor

Linear Interpolation with a lookup table

Hello! I'm new to Power BI, but I try my best to convert some of my old Excel sheets to Power BI.

I want to perform linear interpolation based on values in a seperate table. This table describes many different curves, so I have added an ID column. Then i have a table with time series with an ID and a X value. What i want is to create a new column in this table for the interpolated Y value (based on the right ID and the cuves in the other table)

This is the table with the known X and Y values

IDXY

And here is the Time serie table where I want to create a new Y' column and get the interpolated value for Y returned from the table above. (X is known)

IDXY'
 Next ID  

In Excel this can be done combining a set og Excel formulas and also using a function in VBA. Is this possible to do in Power BI?

Very grateful if anyone can guide me to a solution here.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

So, if I understand what you are saying, you want sensor ID=0 to only interpolate over your known entities table with a corresponding ID=0 and ID=1 should only interpolate over ID=1 known entities, correct? Let me know if that is correct, shouldn't be difficult at all to modify the formula. So, using my original formula, you could probably do something like below (which assumes that you have unrelated tables that both have an ID column 

Pressure (MPa)  = 
VAR x3 = MAX(Interpolation[Temp (C)]) //This is the known value for which you wish to interpolate another value

VAR __id = MAX(Interpolation[ID] // current ID

VAR match = CALCULATE(MAX(H2OTempSat[Pressure (MPa)]),FILTER(H2OTempSat,[Temp (C)]=x3 && [ID]=__id)) //checks if it is a known value