Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Rachelbramos

Line chart re-orders sales period

Hi all,

I'm sure this is a super quick fix but I'm new to Power BI so forgive the basic question!

I've made a line chart to show actual vs goal over time.  We have 13 periods and I've made all the periods a 'number' in the data table.  For whatever reason it's still re-ordering my data in this illogical way, which makes absolutely no sense in my brain.  

Rachelbramos_0-1615221516961.png

Here's a sample of the data I have in the background

Rachelbramos_1-1615221720062.png

And here is how the "Period" column is formatted:

Rachelbramos_2-1615221755777.png

Can someone please help?  

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
lit2018pbi
Resolver II
Resolver II

@Rachelbramos 

It should take in ryt order but there is an other way.

Click on Enter data and create a new table with these values:

lit2018pbi_0-1615225253515.png

Join this ID field with Period column from your table.

Now, use ID field in the axis and

lit2018pbi_1-1615225354410.png

If it is sorted then you are good to go, else click on the ID field and then Sort by ID.

Let me know if this works.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
lit2018pbi
Resolver II
Resolver II

@Rachelbramos 

It should take in ryt order but there is an other way.

Click on Enter data and create a new table with these values:

lit2018pbi_0-1615225253515.png

Join this ID field with Period column from your table.

Now, use ID field in the axis and

lit2018pbi_1-1615225354410.png

If it is sorted then you are good to go, else click on the ID field and then Sort by ID.

Let me know if this works.

Ok, I *think* I followed all your directions correctly and it worked!