Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

KatieH
Advocate IV
Advocate IV

Line Chart with Months per Column

HI all,

I am a beginner user on Power BI and would really appreciate some help.

I have inherited some excel reports and need to create some dashboards off the back of them. 

The columns are:

Client name (unique),

Region (each client is in a preset region of 1-10, with multiple clients in each), 

There is then a column for each month of the current year with the sales figure in each.

Snip1.PNG

I would like to create a line chart with the months along the x axis, and a line for each different regions but, because each month has its own column, I cannot get it to do this.

Can anyone help??

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-shex-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @KatieH,

As sokg said, you can simple to unpivot column function to achieve your requirement.

Steps:

1. Select these month column.
2. Click "unpivot columns" button to convert these columns to "Attribute" and "Value" columns.
3. Create line chart adn drag "Attribute" to Axis, "Region" to legend, "Value" to Values fileds.

Regards,

Xiaoxin Sheng

Community Support Team _ Xiaoxin
If this post helps, please consider accept as solution to help other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
v-shex-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @KatieH,

As sokg said, you can simple to unpivot column function to achieve your requirement.

Steps:

1. Select these month column.
2. Click "unpivot columns" button to convert these columns to "Attribute" and "Value" columns.
3. Create line chart adn drag "Attribute" to Axis, "Region" to legend, "Value" to Values fileds.

Regards,

Xiaoxin Sheng

Community Support Team _ Xiaoxin