Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

kattlees
Post Patron
Post Patron

Limit import based on date

I am new to Power BI and have decided to do import vs direct query.

Is there a way to limit the records imported based on date to save time/space? Our system has 20 years of data and if we only want to import the last 5 or 10 years. Is this possible?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

select filter on your date column and then choose parameter as show below in below circle, and select your parameter.

filter.PNG

Subscribe to the @PowerBIHowTo YT channel for an upcoming video on List and Record functions in Power Query!!

Learn Power BI and Fabric - subscribe to our YT channel - Click here: @PowerBIHowTo

If my solution proved useful, I'd be delighted to receive Kudos. When you put effort into asking a question, it's equally thoughtful to acknowledge and give Kudos to the individual who helped you solve the problem. It's a small gesture that shows appreciation and encouragement! ❤

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution. Proud to be a Super User! Appreciate your Kudos 🙂
Feel free to email me with any of your BI needs.

View solution in original post

32 REPLIES 32
graeffel
Regular Visitor

I have the same problem and get a runtime error when I pull data in Power BI from a datacube of our navision system. How can I limit the query to one year which would be then 'lighter' and would hopefully work? Can someone help me with the code, which I could then enter manually? 

Here is standard query in power bi:

let
Source = AnalysisServices.Databases("AZR-xxx\xxx", [TypedMeasureColumns=true, Implementation="2.0"]),
SA4NAV4_NORD = Source{[Name="SA4NAV4_NORD"]}[Data],
#"Perfect Order Analysis NAV1" = SA4NAV4_NORD{[Id="Perfect Order Analysis NAV4"]}[Data],