Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

kattlees
Post Patron
Post Patron

Limit import based on date

I am new to Power BI and have decided to do import vs direct query.

Is there a way to limit the records imported based on date to save time/space? Our system has 20 years of data and if we only want to import the last 5 or 10 years. Is this possible?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

select filter on your date column and then choose parameter as show below in below circle, and select your parameter.

filter.PNG

Subscribe to the @PowerBIHowTo YT channel for an upcoming video on List and Record functions in Power Query!!

Learn Power BI and Fabric - subscribe to our YT channel - Click here: @PowerBIHowTo

If my solution proved useful, I'd be delighted to receive Kudos. When you put effort into asking a question, it's equally thoughtful to acknowledge and give Kudos to the individual who helped you solve the problem. It's a small gesture that shows appreciation and encouragement! ❤

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution. Proud to be a Super User! Appreciate your Kudos 🙂
Feel free to email me with any of your BI needs.

View solution in original post

32 REPLIES 32

Hi Kattlees,

I have a simillar problem of restricting the number of rows while importing the data from SQL server to power bi using Import connection .

I have seen the code for limiting the records from the thread and tried the same but it is showing error.I could not understand the error.

Below is my code.

let
Source = Sql.Databases("ejazah-live-rds.c52bhszlapad.ap-south-1.rds.amazonaws.com"),
EjazahLive = Source{[Name="EjazahLive"]}[Data],
dbo_tb_SalesData = EjazahLive{[Schema="dbo",Item="tb_SalesData"]}[Data]
FilteredRows = Table.SelectRows(dbo_tb_SalesData, each Date.Month([booking_date])=3)
in
FilteredRows