Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

MarkCBB
Helper V
Helper V

Limit Calendar table to latest date of Fact table within M

Hi there,

I would like to limit my calendar table to the latest date of my fact table, in both table the date column is called "DATE" the table names are FACT, and CALENDAR.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi Mark,

You can do this in several ways, below you find two.

If you use the dax formula =CALENDAR() to create the DATE calendar you could use below snippet te filter based on the maximum date in your fact.

DATE = 
VAR MaxDateFACT = MAX('FACT'[Date])
RETURN
CALENDAR("1-1-2017";MaxDateFACT)

If you imported the date table you could do this trick in M. I am no M expert so maybe it can be done easier, but this works 🙂

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45WMtS10DUyMDRXitWJVjJC5hgjc0yQOabIHDNkjjkyxwKZYwnnxAIA", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [Date = _t]),
    MaxDate = Record.Field(Table.Max(FACT,"Date"),"Date"),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"Date", type date}}),
    #"Filtered Rows" = Table.SelectRows(#"Changed Type", each [Date] <= MaxDate )
in
  #"Filtered Rows"

The MaxDate holds the maximum value for the Date column in the FACT table. You can append this logic to your existing query by opening the "Advanced editor" for your Date table.

Hope this helps!

Regards

Jordi

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi Mark,

You can do this in several ways, below you find two.

If you use the dax formula =CALENDAR() to create the DATE calendar you could use below snippet te filter based on the maximum date in your fact.

DATE = 
VAR MaxDateFACT = MAX('FACT'[Date])