Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ContabilidadBI
Helper III
Helper III

Last year comparison for multiple different measures?

Hi friends,

I am building a financial model with lots of different measures, and for every measure, I need to compare it with the same one last year, both in absolute and relative terms.

So for every measure, I am creating:

- the measure

- the measure last year (with PREVIOUS YEAR())

- Measure VAR = [measure] - [measureLY]
- Measure VAR% = DIVIDE ([measure VAR]; [MeasureLY])

For every indicator, ratio.... (and they are a lot!) I have to create thoes 4 different measures. Is this the correct way to go? I am relatively new in Power BI and I was thinking that maybe there is a better alternative, like a pattern that can be applied to different measures to get the difference between that measure and the same measure last year, without the need to create all this measures everytime. Is there a better alternative or I am doing it the right way?

Thank you!!

5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

did anyone solve this, I'm having the same question

v-juanli-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @ContabilidadBI

In your screenshot, which are measures?

The columns [2013],[2014]? or the lines ?

Best Regards

Maggie

Hi Maggie, and sorry for the incredible delay, I was in another country.

The measures are the lines, the ones in lowercase.

Thank you.

CheenuSing
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi @ContabilidadBI

Please upload some sample data and the output expected to Googledrive or Onedrive and share the link here to find a solution.

Cheers

CheenuSing

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution and also give KUDOS !

Proud to be a Datanaut!

Hi!, thanks for your answer.