Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Last period Data based on Date/Quarter/Month/Week Filter selection

Hi,

I am new to Power BI. I got one requirement to show data for last 4 quarters data in a table. So if user selects Date/Quarter/Month/Week, I have to show resepctive data. i.e if user selects Date: I have to show last 365 days data. If user selects Quarter: Last 4 quarters data. if he selects Month: last 12 months data and in case of week: Last 52 weeks of data.

I got the result for dates:

OIF_Value_EUR_Calc =
CALCULATE (
SUM ( V_OPPORTUNITIES_OIF[OIF_Value_EUR] ),
DATESINPERIOD ( V_OPPORTUNITIES_PERIOD[Created_Date], MAX (V_OPPORTUNITIES_PERIOD[Created_Date]),-365, DAY )
)

But if user selects any other filter, how should I show the respective data.

I would appreciate any help on this.

Thanks!

Regards,

Poonam

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Its all about filter context, Try creating a lookupdate table with Just YEARMONTHSHORT values

YEARMONTHS = VALUES(date[YearMonthShort]) 

Relate that to your data table and set your slice on that.

If doesn't work, you could try NOT using a SLICER to select the month but instead use a disconnected slicer to have user select month, date or whatever and then use that SELECTEDVALUE of what the user selectes as teh desired period in your measures. 

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13
Seward12533
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Use a disconnected slicer to harvest the users choice. 

• Create a table using Enter Data
  • Do NOT link or relate this table to your data
  • Write a measure to harvest the users choice
  • Write a Dynamic Measure using Switch(TRUE()) to calcualte based on that choice
Period
Day
Week
Month
Quarter
Year