Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Paolo750f
Frequent Visitor

LOOKUPVALUE returns blank value

Hi,

I'm pretty new to Power BI but have suddenly become my companies 'expert' 😉

I'm being asked to produce a chart to show 'Enquiries' by week. This could be week YTD or Fiscal week.  Following an online guide i created a date table called DateKey per below and created a relationship between DateKey[date] and Enquiries[enquiry date].  The DateKey[date] column is in the same format as Enquiries[enquiry date] that i want match.

Date table.png

I have been trying to look up the 'week' value based on the row where the Enquiries[enquiry date] matches the 'Date' in the DateKey table.  I created a calculated column with the following DAX: Week number = LOOKUPVALUE('DateKey'[Week],'DateKey'[Date], 'leads'[enquiry date])

This doesn't return anything in the column i created.  I've spent hours looking at articles about how to use LOOKUPVALUE and my syntax looks correct with no errors.

I'm sure i'm missing something simple here and appreciate any support and guidance 🙂

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Paolo750f,

I modified your formula and it seems work on my side with your sample data, you can try to use below formula if it suitable for your requirement:

Week = LOOKUPVALUE(DateKey[Week],DateKey[Date],DATEVALUE(leads[new_enquirydate]))

Capture.PNG

Regards,

Xiaoxin Sheng

Community Support Team _ Xiaoxin
If this post helps, please consider accept as solution to help other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
Anth79
Frequent Visitor

I'm getting an error with something similar, I know its probably me just missing something simple: