Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Machzy
Helper I
Helper I

Joining multiple tables/queries

Hi,

I'm new to Power BI (currently going through the videos on edX). I have a long background with Crystal Reports and now trying to slowly convert that knowledge into PBI.

One of the things that I'm trying to do is the following:

- I have a SQL Server database that has two tables, a customer table and an invoice table

- I'd like to bring these into PBI together to build some dashboards, reports, etc.

- The primary keys in both are a Company ID and a Customer ID

I've used the Get Data process to bring in each of the tables in as separate queries. But when I try to use the Relationships function, I get this error message:

You can't create a relationship between these two columns because one of the columns must have unique values

Should I do this in a different way? or am I missing something?

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

This will be the reason for the error.

One option is to create a new column that combine your CompanyID/CustomerID into a single column, which you can do in the Query Editor.  This would need to be done in both tables to create the relationship.

Otherwise, you could combine both tables into 1 in Query Editor using the Merge command to create a table with the following columns

CompanyID , CustomerID , CustomerName , InvoiceNum

Cheers,

Phil

To learn more about DAX visit : aka.ms/practicalDAX

Proud to be a Datanaut!

View solution in original post