Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Tnt
Frequent Visitor

Join two slicer like OR gate

Hi Experts,

I am a novice in powerbi and facing a problem. Plese find the details of the problem for which I am unable to realize the solution.

I have two or our product - AA and BB, which need to be compared individually with Competitor products XX, YY, and ZZ (see table below of possible comparisons)

My ProductBenchmark Product
AAXX
AAYY
BBYY
BBZZ

I created two Dimension table, one for my product and one for competitor products. The selection on our product (slicer) will refine the options in  competitor products (second slicer).

For eg: if i select AA in prodcut the options in second slicer will be XX and YY but not ZZ (as its not benchmarked against).

Now I need to select either XX or YY of our competitor product.

The selection then needs to identify related data from a fact table as shown below.

ProductTest result
XX8
YY9
ZZ7
AA7
BB8

For selection AA in first slicer and XX in second slicer, visualizer (Table/column) should give values for the selection.  (like the table below)

ProductTest result
AA7
XX8

Could you help me with this.

Thanks for your support.

Regards

Tnt

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
OwenAuger
Super User
Super User

Hi Tnt,

You're welcome 🙂

The reason for manipulating the data model this way is that using physical relationships for filtering generally gives better performance, and reduces the complexity of any measures that need to be written, compared with other approaches where relationships are simulated using DAX.

I have actually attached an updated PBIX, just with the query steps changed for the 'Benchmark Product' table. The final data model is unchanged, however.