Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Iterative search

I have been moving from Excel to Power BI for a few months and have been migrating tools, ditching the old way of working to use the power of Power BI.

In one of the tools I wrote a VBA function which did an iterative lookup to search of values in one table which checked inside the contents of a cell in another sheet and then returned a value from the lookup table. 

Search Table

Lookup ValueReturn Value
JavaOracle Java
OfficeMicrosoft Office

Data Table

FindingSoftware Package
The version of Java running on the Machine is out of dateOracle Java
Office 4.3 is running on the machineMicrosoft Office

In Excel my function the data table did a for loop until it had a match then returned the result into the Software Package, it worked by taking the "Finding value" and then doing a loop by increasing the row count in the search table until a match was found.

It wasn't elegant but it worked better than using a huge nested if statement. I have searched and perhaps not using the correct words to describe what I am trying to do, but is this possible?

I would still prefer to use a table to add further search strings to if that is possible, I know it isnt fashionable to try and mimic Excel but I'm trying to make things easier for everyone involved (mainly me ;))

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

Firstly thanks for your help but as i cannot link the tables it didnt work.

What I found was a solution here - https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Desktop/Wildcard-matching-amp-returning-a-value/m-p/470276 which uses the minx function, no idea how but its worked for me

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
CNENFRNL
Community Champion
Community Champion