Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

rmjersey

Iterating / changing query parameter to build a merged table

Hi, I'm new to PowerBI (1-2 hours playing around, no background reading) but very impressed so far.

Hopefully someone can give me a pointer with my first PowerBI challenge...

I am using a web data source to get XML from a 3rd party API.

The API allows me to fetch a list of 'workstations', but I must specify a single 'clientid' as a parameter in the API URL.

It only returns the workstations for that one clientid.

To get 'all workstations' for 'all clients', I need to run multiple API calls changing the clientid parameter each time.

Here's how I'm getting a list of clientids:

= Xml.Tables(Web.Contents("https://foo.com/api/?apikey=xyz&service=list_clients")){0}[items]{0}[client][clientid]

Here's how I'm getting a set of workstations for a given clientid:

= Xml.Tables(Web.Contents("https://foo.com/api/?apikey=xyz&service=list_devices_at_client" & "&clientid=123456")){0}[items]{0}[client]{0}[workstation]

...but what I really want is to iterate over a list of all those clientids and build a single 'merged' table of all workstations.

For bonus points I would like a custom column in that merged table that shows the clientid for each row.

I've tried using parameters in my workstation query, and even succesfully turned it in to a function, but I am struggling with iteration/merging data automatically.

Grateful for any help.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
ImkeF
Super User
Super User

Well done! So if you have the function already, all that's left to do is to

1) transform your list of ClientIDs to a table (tab: List Tools -> Convert -> To Table) and

2) add a column (tab: Add Column -> General -> Custom Column