Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

JTPorterfield
Frequent Visitor

Issues with Query Parameters Needing to Refresh Data Source

Hi there, fairly new PBI user here - proficient at Tableau, but learning PBI at a client's request.  All self-taught, no formal training, working in PBI for about 2.5 weeks.

I'm having trouble with sending a PBIX file to the client.  I've looked at a ton of other posts on here and elsewhere, and I think I'm stretching PBI's functionality a little bit, as most people aren't doing what I'm doing.  To help those who may help me, I'm going to try to explain the different layers this issue goes down into.

Primary Issue: Unlike Tableau, which allows me to create a packaged workbook that I can send to a client that they can easily open, I've not found any similar functionality in PBI.  If that's not the case, how could I do this?

So, in order to send the few page report (I think that's what it's called) to the client, I either need to send them the dataset, which is 22 different spreadsheets (this could probably be condensed to one if needed), which I would then have to re-establish the linkage to the dataset on his machine.  Or, I can try to go down the Sharepoint route, which I've started to investigate, but it seems like on this route, Query Parameter changes don't completely recalculate all calculated columns, as well as being complicated (needing to set up a gate, etc) and not super reliable (based on other forum posts which may or may not be true).  The recalculation issue is why I’m using Query Parameters instead of “What If” Parameters under the Modeling tab in the first place.  It seems like clicking refresh doesn’t update calculated columns if you use the “What If” parameters, only the query parameters.  If this isn’t true, again, please point me in the right direction.