Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

mpannella1
Regular Visitor

Issue with calculating period over period variance

Hello!

First off let me start by saying I am brand new to Power BI. 😬

I am trying to calculate a period-over-period variance and display that in my matrix as seen in the screenshot below.

It works just fine when all dates are selected. However, in the example below, when I filter the date to be just fiscal year 2022 (top left in the screenshot) the first date shows a variance against zero because the prior period is not selected in the drop down. Ideally I would like this measure to work without me having to select the prior period.

You can see the formula expression that I have written - where am I going wrong here? 

mpannella1_0-1642706783011.png

3 REPLIES 3
v-yetao1-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @mpannella1 
Please correct me if I wrongly understood your issue . When you choose year 2022, the value of the first month is not the difference from the last month of last year, but the difference from 0, is it ?
From the formula you provided, it is indeed the difference between the calculation and the previous month. Can you provide your sample(delete sensitive data) ? It will help us handle the problem better.

Best Regard
Community Support Team _ Ailsa Tao
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Hello! Sorry for the late reply as other areas of work had me distracted for a bit.