Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

kxj54590
Helper II
Helper II

Issue in Dax (Caluclated column).

Hello everyone, 

I am a novice user in power bi, slowly upgrading myself to multiple scenarios, have recently came across a situation to resolve the output by random change in the rate value passed through a parameter. The issue over here is I have written a switch dax function and applied the logic, however, it gives me output as zero. 

Is there any other work around to get the desired results in the "dynamic_bin_column" ? I am attaching the document as well for the solution, please provide a direction/guidance.

Thanks everyone for your valuable time & effort !!

https://ucmo0-my.sharepoint.com/:u:/g/personal/kxj54590_ucmo_edu/EVXeIu1apspAukQFl_-b39sB7_gJ1ryuBVO... 

@PhilipTreacy, @parry2k @AlexPowers 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Syndicate_Admin
Administrator
Administrator

There @Syndicate_Admin@kxj54590

Download this PBIX file with code shown below

This calculation should be done with a Measure rather than a Column. Here's the DAX for the Measure

dynamic_bin_measure = SWITCH (

TRUE, 

Dyn_Rate[Dyn_Rate Value] = 0, 0,

Dyn_Rate[Dyn_Rate Value] <= SELECTEDVALUE(Input[2 Tier Range]) , 1,

Dyn_Rate[Dyn_Rate Value] > SELECTEDVALUE(Input[2 Tier Range]) &&  Dyn_Rate[Dyn_Rate Value] <= SELECTEDVALUE(Input[3 Tier Range]), 2,

Dyn_Rate[Dyn_Rate Value] > SELECTEDVALUE(Input[3 Tier Range]) &&  Dyn_Rate[Dyn_Rate Value] <= SELECTEDVALUE(Input[4 Tier Range]), 3,

Dyn_Rate[Dyn_Rate Value] > SELECTEDVALUE(Input[4 Tier Range]) &&  Dyn_Rate[Dyn_Rate Value] <= SELECTEDVALUE(Input[5 Tier Range]), 4,

Dyn_Rate[Dyn_Rate Value] > SELECTEDVALUE(Input[5 Tier Range]), 5,

)