Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

PushkarP
Helper I
Helper I

Issue importing excel file in Power BI desktop

Hello,

I'm new to Power BI. This may sound very basic. However this is an issue I'm facing. 

I am working on a new Power BI report and trying to get data from an excel spreadsheet. I could import the file, and it was accidentaly deleted in the Power BI desktop, so I tried to load the same file again, however it failed to load and I see 'Please wait while we establish a connection to <filename>'. The excel file resides on my local machine and it is not a protected file. Please see attached screen capture for the message.

To my surprise I now see the same message for any of the excel file.

Can anyone help me with this.

Thank you in advance.

Pushkar

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

hi @PushkarP - One thing you can do is that you can copy the script for the steps from the old file and apply to the new file. 

Sumanth_23_0-1601404442086.png

Sumanth_23_1-1601404553474.png

Also can you check in Query Editor and delete any reference to the old excel if they exist. 

Please mark the post as a solution and provide a 👍 if my comment helped with solving your issue. Thanks!

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution! Appreciate your Kudos!

Proud to be a Super User!

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
sreenub
Resolver II
Resolver II

Go to following path  and clear Permistions and try to connect Excel again

TransformData -> Data Source Settings 

No permossions for ecxel in there.

Sumanth_23
Memorable Member
Memorable Member

hi @PushkarP  - I do not see the screenshot in the below post. Also have you tried importing using a new BLANK Power BI desktop file? 

Please mark the post as a solution and provide a 👍 if my comment helped with solving your issue. Thanks!