Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Is there a way to do lookup with conditions

Hi All,

Hope you can help me with lookup query, I am still quite new to Power BI and data analysis:

Problem:

I want to use Employee Name from "Employee Details" as the primary key to do a lookup and populate the Employee Status in the second table "Employee"

However, due to that there are duplicated names exist in "Employee Details" table (Nicole Miller),I am not able to perform the lookup function.

Table 1: Employee Details                                                     Table 2: Employee

Table 1: Employee DetailsTable 1: Employee DetailsTable 2: EmployeeTable 2: Employee 

Scenario:

And I also want to clarify that, each row in Table 1 is a unique record. For example, Nicole Miller from Row 5, has Active status from Project Team 1, but Nicole Miller has Inactive status from Project Team 2, 3, 4.

This is actually a valid use case because Nicole Miller has rolled off from Project Team 2-4, she is now on Project Team 1 and she is still an active employee within the company. So if the employee has multiple records in Employee Details table, with both active and inactive Employee Status, the employee is actually still active in the company.

What I want to achieve:

So I was wondering if there is a formula to lookup and populate the right Employee Status in the second table "Employee".
Esp when the same employee has multiple records in "Employee Details", I would want the Employee Status to be Active in "Employee". 

Much appreciated for any suggestions for handling this situation, either if there is a way to do a conditional lookup, or create a new column in the first table etcs.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
CNENFRNL
Community Champion
Community Champion