Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Cunial

Is it possible to split rows

Hi All,

I am trying to split a row into several rows with only the value ("Indicator" below) changing.

Here's an example of what I am attempting.

Example:  
IDNameItemIndicator
1JohnOranges30

Result:  
ID:NameItemIndicator
1JohnOranges15
2JohnOranges15

I am trying to apply the logic; for all 'John' rows create a new row but divide indicator by x, in this case it is 2. 

I am new to PowerBI and after attempting to do this in DAX and M I am unsure about a couple things:

1. Is DAX or M the correct place to apply this change

2. Is this change possible

Also I would greatly appreciate any guidance for how I might do this if it is possible. 

Thanks in advance,

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

You can do it in Power Query as illustrated in the video and resulting in the query code below.

Basically Power Query takes care of the steps to have your data properly structured into the datamodel, after which DAX takes over for further modeling and adding measures.

So in my view this should be done in Power Query, but I must admit I'm pretty biased towards Power Query.

Many people out here would prefer DAX.

The query code that was generated during video recording:

let
    Source = Table1,
    #"Added Custom" = Table.AddColumn(Source, "Custom", (ThisRow) => if ThisRow[Name] = "John" then List.Transform({1..Parameter_x},each ThisRow[Indicator]/Parameter_x) else {ThisRow[Indicator]}, type {number}),
    #"Expanded Custom" = Table.ExpandListColumn(#"Added Custom", "Custom"),
    #"Removed Columns" = Table.RemoveColumns(#"Expanded Custom",{"Indicator"}),
    #"Renamed Columns" = Table.RenameColumns(#"Removed Columns",{{"Custom", "Indicator"}})
in
    #"Renamed Columns"
Specializing in Power Query Formula Language (M)