Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

thmpsne
Frequent Visitor

Irregular Survey Data: Return Count of Value in One Column based on Value in Another Column

Hi everyone, 

This is my first time posting so please forgive me if it's rough! 

I'm relatively new to PowerBI, and my DAX is very basic. In my role, we are moving toward using PowerBI to present results of university student experience surveys (social science data). These surveys are administered through Qualtrics. The surveys are very customisable, and even the pathway that a respondent takes through the survey will differ conditionally based on their unique responses (e.g. they won't get prompted to answer questions about employment if they have already indicated that they aren't employed). Thus, my dataset is highly variable.

Despite the challenges, I'm able to do most of what I want, but have continually run into the issue that I'm presenting here. 

I have unpivoted my data; prior to unpivoting, depending on respondents, there could be over 100 columns (question responses) per unique ID, for >3000 respondents. Please see a dummy and highly simplified sample below of what the data sort of looks like:

Student IDQuestion CodeResponse Value
123456789example_numberjobs2
123456789example_mainrole - Job TitleTeacher
123456789example_industryEducation & Training
123456789example_employtypeWorking for an employer
123456789example_employedoverallYes, employed at time of survey
123789456example_numberjobs2
123789456example_mainrole - Job TitleNurse
123789456example_industryHealthcare & Social Assistance
123789456example_employtypeWorking for an employer
123789456example_employedoverallYes, employed at time of survey
321654987example_employedoverallNo, not employed at survey time