Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

rodneyc8063
Helper V
Helper V

Intellisense Not Showing Table Column in Measure Formula?

So I am new to Power BI and am still learning the language.

Early on, I sort of just "trusted" Intellisense and didnt question it very much on how it worked but I just came across something and just wanted to finally ask my silly question 🙂

Using a very simple example, I have a table with one single column and row inside of it

test.jpg

Now, I am just playing around and trying to use the FORMAT function.

I create a calculated column by right clicking on the table and selecting "New Column"

TEST1.jpg

I start to type out my formula [ Column = FORMAT(DATE..... ] and intellisense picks up the table/table column as shown

TEST2.jpg

Now when I repeat the same steps but this time create "New Measure" intellisense does NOT pick up the table or column?

TEST3.jpg

I know Intellisense is supposed to be "smart" enough to know when to suggest certain things, so it makes our lives easier coding. But I was just curious in this case, I am typing out the exact same basic formula with the only difference being that one is in a calculated column, and another is in a measure.

So why would Intellisense not let me choose the table/column in a measure?

I have noticed also in the past that at times when typing certain formulas that intellisense would "sometimes" show columns, and "sometimes" it would not.

I just wanted to understand a bit more "why" intellisense would show or not show columns when typing a formula? 

Thanks in advance for any help or insight

1 REPLY 1
krishna0
Helper II
Helper II

Hello,