Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

gguadalupe
Frequent Visitor

Insurance Earned Premium/Loss Ratio Calculation

Hi All!

I'm new to PowerBi and I'm trying to implement an insurance dashboard.

All is fine, but now I'm trying to implement the loss ratio formula controled by a slicer filled with my Dates table.

For those who are new to insurance, the Premium (Sales) is Earned over the period of the insurance policy.

Example: an annual premium of $1000, at the 6 months of coverage the Earned Premium is $500 and $83.33 per month if coverage starts the 1st day of the month.

In my mind, the formula I have to implement is something like this:

Premium Per Day = PremiumTable[PremiumAmt] / Datediff(In Days, PremiumTable[EffectiveDate], PremiumTable[ExpirationDate])

Earned Premium for Selected Period = [Premium Per Day] * Datediff(In Days, Higher Date between DatesTable[Date] and PremiumTable[EffectiveDate], Lower Date between DatesTable[Date] and PremiumTable[ExpirationDate])

Acumulated Earned Premium = [Premium Per Day] * Datediff(In Days, PremiumTable[EffectiveDate], DatesTable[Date])

Thank you for your comments!!

DatesTable.png

PremiumTable.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@v-jiascu-msft

Hi Dale,

I have been thinking about this, and I finally understood that my data model was wrong.

Now the model has the info "flat" month by month, and I let Power Bi do just aggregations.

Loss Ratio Star Model.png

With this model now I can see the Earned Premium month by month, and calculate the Loss Ratio change month by month.

Thank you Dale for your help!!

Gus.

View solution in original post

20 REPLIES 20
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi everone,

I'm quiet advanced in insurance finances/underwriting etc, but completely new in Power BI.