Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Insert Parameter in M language

Hi,

I'm trying to build a Parameterised Query using M Language. I have my variables stored as text fields but when I add them to the final query, it doesnt seem to pick up the string but just returns the variable name. So where I might expect the result of the query, I get the query name.

I'm quite new to M, but if I were in VBA, I would change the syntax from "Text" to  "" & variable & "" to enter variable as a string. How do I achieve the same with M?

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi All,

So after many variations, it turns out it's the same as VBA without spaces. I was building a Paramaeterised Query and wanted a single place to change the value and it update the 6 Queries I have.

The Date value appeared like this "201801", so I created a variable and then managed to insert that using ""&Date&""

All working, thanks for you help. 🙂

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi @Anonymous Thank you for your effort to help me to solve this problem for me. I am happy to tell you that finally I found the exact solution for passing parameter into select statement in SAP HANA.

Here is the simple one line code that worked for me. 🙂

let
Source=SapHana.Database(CName, [Query="SELECT  * FROM "&SName&".""FN_PowerBI_SampleFunctionName""();"])
in
Source

Thanks, Kulchandra Neupane

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi All,

So after many variations, it turns out it's the same as VBA without spaces. I was building a Paramaeterised Query and wanted a single place to change the value and it update the 6 Queries I have.

The Date value appeared like this "201801", so I created a variable and then managed to insert that using ""&Date&""

All working, thanks for you help. 🙂