Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Sdhn420
Helper IV
Helper IV

Income Statement Custom Subtotal and hierarchy

Hi all,

I am struggling to get my income statement right. Here is the sample pbix file. https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ccoFO5LUpYd8zyouDX_3SxdKogKdTWiO/view?usp=sharing

I have a Data table, master and calendar tables. 

Have created measures and used switch() to display calculated subtotals but it is not appearing. Also, the heirarchy is not right. 

It should be - 

Sales

Cost of Sales

Net Sales (measure created) = Sales - Cost of Sales

Could you pls review the pbix file and advise.

9 REPLIES 9
aj1973
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi,

I think The best way to go through the whole process is to start organizing and grouping your GL accounts by their category and then create your measures. 

aj1973_1-1606654845761.png

In your Model, if you need to use Net Sales Value as it is you will need to create a column in you Data Table

DESC 1 = RELATED(Master[PL Description 1])
Then use it in your 'Net Sales Value' = 
CALCULATE(SUM('Data'[Value]),Data[DESC 1]="SALES") - CALCULATE(SUM('Data'[Value]),Data[DESC 1]="GROSS SALES")

Your P&L Value measure is not correct as you can't use Switch for the purpose. what do you want to achieve? that's why I suggest you better start grouping your GL accounts.

Regards
Amine Jerbi

If I answered your question, please mark this thread as accepted
and you can follow me on
My Website, LinkedIn and Facebook

Thanks @aj1973 

I have created a column as you suggested and a measure for net sales value. 

How can I make it appear on matrix row without using switch?

aj1973
Community Champion
Community Champion

@Sdhn420 

Well there is 2 ways to achieve your goal.