Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

manjirit
Helper I
Helper I

Importing Excel file every week from a folder and refreshing the report for that week.

I am a total newbee to PowerBI and trying to do the following at work. 

I need to create a weekly report  for some readings  by faculty.  I get the exel file every week that contains the reading data.  

Here is the structure (columns) of the weekly excel files with example data that I get :

TypeOrgFacultySunMonTueWedThuFriSatTotal
CR        HM        Tom Jones03800017055

As you can see, there is no date coming into the file contents. But the file names are

"July 18th.xlsx"

"July 11th.xlsx"

etc.  No year in the file name.

I am creating weekly reports like "Total by Faculty",  "Total by Type" or "Total by Org" etc. (So actually I don't need daily numbers for reading. Might as well delete the  Days columns.) 

Each week, as a the new file comes in, I need to import that file (automated) and my  report should be refreshed and show the new report for that week. But whenever wanted  I need to see the  report for the period chosen.

So as I see it, while importing Excel files into Power BI, I need to add a column into the file, with date filled in from the Title of the file. 

For this part, I checked the follwing post, but couldn't go any further with that. 

https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Desktop/Retain-file-name-column-when-using-Folder-as-a-data-source-...

Can someone tell me step by step process  to achieve the above process? 

~Sam

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
ImkeF
Super User
Super User

There is a new From-Folder technique that @MalS is referring to, and as a beginner with xls-as a source, I recommend to use that: http://www.excelguru.ca/blog/2016/12/21/new-combine-binaries-experience/