cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
DKaur3

If not crossfiltered then count

Hi,

I have some key values and some graphs on a dashboard. The graphs show variables over time. I want the key values to show for 2014 when nothing is selected, but when 2013 is selected on a graph, I want the key value to show the 2013 count. I'm very new to Power BI, but I though a measure might be able to do this.

ItemYrN = if(ISCROSSFILTERED('Table1'[Year]),calculate(counta('Table1'[Item])),calculate(counta('Table1'[Item]),filter('Table1','Table1'[Year]=2014)))

Item is a string field.

I have tried many other variations of this but just can't seem to make it work. How do I get the equation to count the crossfiltered data when ISCROSSFILTERED results in true?

Or any other suggestions to achieve what I want would be helpful.

Many thanks,

D

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Greg_Deckler
Super User IV
Super User IV

I *think* what you want to do is to use ALLSELECTED in your true clause in the Calculate function versus in the false clause use the filter that you have. Then, the true portion should honor the filters that have been selected but when it is not crossfiltered, then you will get 2014 values.

---------------------------------------

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!

I have a NEW book! 
DAX Cookbook from Packt
Over 120 DAX Recipes!

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
Greg_Deckler
Super User IV
Super User IV

I *think* what you want to do is to use ALLSELECTED in your true clause in the Calculate function versus in the false clause use the filter that you have. Then, the true portion should honor the filters that have been selected but when it is not crossfiltered, then you will get 2014 values.

---------------------------------------

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!

I have a NEW book! 
DAX Cookbook from Packt
Over 120 DAX Recipes!